The Pollok Estate offices and stables viewed from the south bank of the White Cart Water, c 1830.
The estate offices and stables were built in the 18th century to the south-east of the house on the site of the old castle. The range of buildings was erected around a courtyard (now known as the Old Stable Courtyard) and incorporates fragments of earlier buildings including a 17th century arch. A weir can be seen to the right: water from the White Cart was used to power a sawmill. The two birds in the bottom corners are scraps which were pasted onto the watercolour at a later date.
The watercolour is one of a series painted by an unknown artist working for the Maxwell family. The paintings show different buildings and views on the Pollok Estate, which was then owned by the Maxwells, and are a unique record of an early 19th century west of Scotland country estate.
Reproduced with the permission of the National Trust for Scotland
courtyards, estate offices, Old Stable Courtyard, Pollok Estate, Pollok Park, quadrangles, River Cart, sawmills, stables, watercolours, weirs, White Cart Water