The foundation stone of St John's Parish Church was laid in 1817 by Henry Monteith who had been Lord Provost of the city. The building, situated at the end of MacFarlane Street fronted the Gallowgate, and was erected at a cost £9,000. It could hold up to 1,580 parishioners in one of the poorest areas of the city.
During its construction the foundations collapsed sparking fears that the 138 feet high Gothic tower would not be able to support the weight of the full compliment of bells which were envisaged for the church. Only the Church of St Andrew in Edinburgh could boast a complete "Ring of Bells" at this time.
The famous reforming minister Thomas Chalmers became minister of St John's Parish in 1819 and remained for four years. The building was demolished in 1962.
Reference: Mitchell Library, GC 941.435 GOR
Reproduced with the permission of Glasgow City Council, Libraries Information and Learning
church bells, Church of Scotland, church towers, churches, Gothic, lord provosts, St John's Parish Church